Toronto Independent Music Awards


The Toronto Independent Music Awards are taking place on September 30 in Revival with winners announced on the night. As always the competition is tough with many great acts up for awards in different categories.


Best Music Video Long List:

The Nursery for “Digital Ashes”

Countermeasure for “Opera Somnia”

Leah Daniels for “Your Kiss is Killing Me”

Danielle Knoll for “Alive”

Lyric Dubee for “Young & Restless”

We Are for “Dufferin 83”

The Marrieds for “Fingers Crossed”

Jutes for “Cocaine Cinderella”

Honey Beard for “Hummingbird”

Pyramid Theorem for “Drive”

Tremayne for “City Lights”

Last Bullet for “Sin”

KINK for “In My Eyes”

Red Handed Denial for “Collector”


Best World:

Bill McBirnie and Bruce Jones, Extreme Flute

Vandana Vishwas

Juneyt Yetkiner

Trinity Mpho

Los Poetas


Best International:


Caritos Plaza


Holy Bouncer

The Recipe


Best Country:

Anthony Tullo

Leah Daniels

Tianna Woods

Emma Elena Grace

Gina Horswood


Best Jazz Instrumental:

Brad Cheeseman Group

Turbo Street Funk

Mike Field


Roger Chong Quartet


Best Jazz Vocal:

Ori Dagan

Turbo Street Funk

Natasha Roldan

Monty Greig

Adam David Halsey


Best Instrumental or Classical:

Bill McBirnie and Bruce Jones, Extreme Flute


Luau or Die

Juneyt Yetkner


Best Young Songwriter:

Melanie Frade

Karina Wipper

Lyric Dubee

Wes Mason

Brighid Fry

Sophia Radisch


Best Folk or Roots:

The Marrieds

Taylor Holden

Hidden Roots Collective

Chanelle Albert


Best Singer-Songwriter:

Sarah Smith

Sydney Delong

Lauren Haze

Samara York

Emma Elena Grace


Best Adult Contemporary:

Julian Taylor Band

Ivy James

Mermaids Exist

Angela Saini

Park Eddy


Best Urban:


Michael Mazze

Frank Castle

Jae Ari


Fresh Kils



Best Rock or Loud:

Van Halst

Fallen Heirs

Last Bullet


Seven Symphonies


Best Indie:



Limestone Chorus

Sky Terminal

Dress Black


Best Pop or Electronic:

Tafari Anthony

Lori Nuic

Michael Mazze


Jo3Y Q


Best Out-Of-Province:


Brittany McQuinn

Cynthia Hamar


We Were Lovers

The Statistics


Best USA:


International Show

Kevin Chambers

Lucky Patrick

The Wolves of Chernobyl


Best Song (Top Prize), second and third runner up:

Announced Live at the Toronto Independent Music Awards Gala and Festival on Sept 30, 2016 at Revival in Toronto, Ontario.

2016 Grand Jury:

  • Nicole Fiorentino, Musician (The Smashing Pumpkins, Brody Dalle, Veruca Salt).
  • Tyler Tasson, Manager, Label Services at ole.
  • Andy Hawke, A&R / Label Manager, Cadence Music, Fontana North.
  • Raoul Juneja, Producer, Media Expert on Urban & South Asian Music.
  • Matt White, Lemmon Entertainment.
  • Alan Cross, Professional Music Geek and Broadcaster.
  • Hill Kourkoutis, Musician and Producer (Serena Ryder, The Weeknd, Hill & the Sky Heroes).
  • Andreas Kalogiannides, Entertainment Lawyer, Member of Toronto Music Industry Advisory Council.
  • Chris Paco, Ben Rispin, Mannish Singlha, of Misfit Island, Best Music Video Category Judges.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s